← Back to All Blog Posts
Posted: 10/7/2024

Mess Up On Purpose

I like the idea of “messing up on purpose” to force yourself to not worry so much about perfection or making mistakes.

I saw this comic by @pixelameart on Twitter that expresses this idea in a beautiful way.


There’s also this advice that I see propagated on Tumblr about making writing easier by creating your rough drafts with Comic Sans.

The message is similar: Comic Sans is a silly (and perhaps hated) font, so while using it, you’re less focused on how perfect your writing is (you’re using Comic Sans, it’s not going to look that great) and can focus more on actually writing.


I also end up experiencing this while playing rhythm games. If I haven’t made a mistake while playing a song, then the self imposed pressure to be perfect will keep growing. But, if I make a mistake (intentionally or not), that pressure immediately goes away, and I can focus on just enjoying playing the game (I’m not one to strive for perfects in rhythm games, anyways).

I think that this is a thing that I wish to embody in my art: messing up on purpose, not as a way to resign yourself to your insecurities, but to free yourself from your own expectations.