← Back to All Blog Posts
Posted: 2/7/2024

I Love Cities

I live in a suburban area, so any time I want to go somewhere, I have to drive. Any feeling of exploration is replaced with the feeling that I need to find parking in order to do ANYTHING. In a way, the car is generally a burden that I need to manage. This is ignoring the fact that you have to maintain the car itself, and so if it breaks, it’s a HUGE difficulty to fix.

There’s an old Vsauce video on YouTube that says: cars “shrunk” the distance between places, but now places are farther away. It’s possible to live even further in isolation.

Visiting a walkable city for the first time in my adult life was such a nice experience. It’s so easy to just wander around without really having a destination in mind. It’s also just nice exercise.

Sure, visiting isn’t the same thing as living there. It’s possible that for things like healthcare, accessibility within walking range is low which makes it difficult to access those services. But, I think that (like suburban environments where you HAVE to drive) it’s fundamentally an infrastructure problem that could be solved.

I really just want to not have to drive everywhere.